Restaurant Dining Versus Fast Food

20 Apr

To eat fast food or to go to a sit-down restaurant? That is the question (Shakespearean tone of course).

I personally don’t think either are good for you in a broad viewpoint, but if I had to choose, you might as well go to a sit-down restaurant and make an event of it.

(Courtesy of Google)

To clarify a tad bit, when I say “fast food,” I am referring to places like McDonald’s, Wendy’s, Taco Bell, etc.

(Courtesy of Google)

When I say “sit-down restaurant,” I am talking about Applebee’s, T.G.I. Friday’s, IHOP, Houlihan’s, etc.

(Courtesy of Google)

The hype has always been about staying away from fast food restaurants, especially with the movie Super Size Me that came out in 2004.

(Courtesy of Google)

As Ashley Staker says in a Medifast Health article, “Restaurant dining may actually do more damage to your waistline and wallet.”

The main part of the article I want to save as advice for me and possibly advice that may help you are the helpful strategies for dining out in general. Staker writes:

  • Watch portion sizes. 
  • Order condiments on the side.
  • Make sensible choices.
  • Ask for substitutes.

I have always heard that restaurants will give you double portions. Although that’s a bang for your buck, it could also lead to a bust for your belt.

(Courtesy of Google)

As far as the condiments go, I especially recommend putting salad dressing on the side. Although you may think “the more the merrier” when it comes to honey mustard, blue cheese or ranch dressing, please think again.  Salad dressing in excess may be the main cause of that amazing taste on your tongue, but may lead to that regretful feeling after. At least for me that’s the case, but I have now been trying to always put my dressing on the side. I get that same amazing taste on my tongue, but less of a regretful feeling after.

(Courtesy of Google)

Knowing the sensible choices is the easy part. Making a conscious effort to chose those choices is the hard part, but you can do it.

(Courtesy of Google)

Lastly, substitute that yummy piece of bread or creamy mashed potatoes that come with your order for vegetables like savory broccoli or asparagus.

(Courtesy of Google)

These little changes make a big difference. I am not the “knower” of all healthy food and healthy choices by any means, but writing this blog holds me accountable for the food choices I make. I am all about accountability. Let me know if you want me to help motivate you. We can help each other.

6 Responses to “Restaurant Dining Versus Fast Food”

  1. Chaleeta Morris April 20, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    I like!!! this is soooo true. Good Looking out!

    • jonesalexandra April 22, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

      I am sooo glad you liked this!!! I hope it was helpful. :-)

  2. Drive Thru Guy April 20, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    You should check out a documentary called “Fat Head”. It’s kind of the opposite of Super Size Me and the guy seems to have a bit of a hate on for Morgan Spurlock, but still had some interesting stuff in it.

    • jonesalexandra April 22, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

      Really? I will have to check it out. I am going to check and see if it’s on Netflix. Thanks for the suggestion. I appreciate it.

  3. Joan April 22, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    Thanks for telling me how to not be fat. I’ve always liked Wendy’s better than any of the sit-down places you named though.

    • jonesalexandra April 22, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

      Ha, I wish I had the answers on how to not be “fat.” My goal is to give healthy tips that I have used in hopes that it can help someone else out. It’s all about make healthy choices for your brain, body and self-esteem, in my opinion :-). Oh and I was listing example restaurants to make a clear distinction between “fast food” and “sit-down” restaurants. And yes, Wendy’s baked potato with broccoli and cheese is sooooo good. I hope you enjoyed my post Joan.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 349 other followers

